Ivonne Paredes





Ivonne goes back to her Peruvian roots as a composer, writing works inspired by different styles of Peruvian music. She is very interested in applying her Peruvian heritage to any composition making it diverse, unique and out of the ordinary.

Composer. Percussionist. Paredes was born and raised in Lima, Peru. In search of a better education, she relocated to the United States at the age of 17, and settled in Florida. As a college student, she enrolled in music classes and began taking lessons from renowned percussionist Mike Davis. In 2008, Paredes transferred to Rollins College in Winter Park, Florida, where she continued her studies as part of the Rollins Percussion ensemble led by Beth Gottlieb, and as a student in Gottlieb's master classes.                                                                                    

Paredes is a graduate from Rollins College, and holds a Master of Music degree in Composition from City University of New York - Brooklyn College, where she composed under the supervision of Douglas Cohen and Tania León. She has also been under the tutelage of composers Jason Eckardt and Morton Subótnick.

Her music has been performed and premiered across the Americas as well as in Europe and Asia. Some of the ensembles that have performed her compositions include the Rollins College Orchestra, the Brooklyn College Symphony Orchestra, forty/sixty, andPlay, Black House Collective, JACOPERA, Vanguardia Perú Big Band, Periapsis ensemble, Cincinnati Soundbox’s e513, the YMCA College of Hong Kong's jazz ensemble, and Arturo O'Farrill's Afro Latin Jazz Orchestra.

Paredes specializes in chamber works, and her compositions have received numerous recognitions. Memorias, her master's thesis and percussion ensemble work, was awarded the H. Wiley Hitchcock Award in 2014. Her marimba piece Marinera was also chosen as part of the Society of Composers, Inc. 2015 Mixtapes. Recent works have been selected for performance in various new music festivals including the Women Composers Festival of Hartford, NSEME, the UNK New Music Festival, The New York City Electroacoustic Music Festival, PARMA Music Festival, The International Electroacoustic Music Festival, the Manchester New Music Festival, MUSLAB, New Latin Wave, among others.

In addition to concert music, Ivonne composes music for dance. She has collaborated with choreographer Andre M. Zachery, artistic director of the Renegade Performance Group, and she held a residency at Periapsis Music & Dance.

She also works as a concert organizer and promoter of new music. In 2014, she founded the organization GROUP WORK with fellow composers Matthew D. Gantt and Abraham Z. Morrison. The organization curates composers' concerts throughout New York City.

Ivonne currently works at the Conservatory of Music at Brooklyn College, and for the non-profit organization Composers Now.





Writing a piece for you and your ensemble. Rates vary from instrumentation, deadline, and length. Please contact me via email at ivonnekparedes@gmail.com to discuss details.



Rates vary from instrumentation, deadline, and length. Please contact me via email at ivonnekparedes@gmail.com to get a quote.





One-hour of private study is $50. There are currently four spots available in my studio.

engraving & copywork

Done with Sibelius 7. Samples are available upon request. Feel free to send a PDF of your project to ivonnekparedes@gmail.com to get a quote.


CONCERT Curation

Through my organization GROUP WORK.




Photos by Whitney George